A Tricky Win For White

Keep exploring at . Get started for free, and hurry—the first 200 people get 20% off an annual premium subscription.

This video was sponsored by Brilliant

Puzzle FEN:
kr1b4/p2p4/2R5/1r6/1N6/5B2/6K1/8 w – – 0 1

Puzzle Details:
No. 3967 G.M. Kasparyan (iii.77)
Commended, Revista Romana de Sah,

Timestamps:
0:00 – Intro
0:11 – Sponsor Message
1:04 – Puzzle Explanation

⚡ 229 Chess Skills Blueprint ⚡

✅ My Courses! ✅

The chess set behind me:
The Pieces:
The Board:

👕 New Shirts! 👕

☑️ Play Chess Here:

☑️ Support Nelson Here:

Links are affiliate links and help support the Chess Vibes channel via a commission.

55 Comments

  1. Can someone please explain what happens if Rc5+?

  2. I usually get right idea but not all other complications. This one I am thinking Rook to C7 check > b8 rook blocks leads to checkmate so other rook blocks > knight to a6 > Now black is in a zugzuwang moving the unpinned rook will lead to checkmate. If pawn move then that pawn can be simply captured. If bishop moves and gives up c7 then also a smothered mate. But pretty sure I missed some tricks there.

  3. this is yet another puzzle i think people need to word themselfs properly in chess and such
    its not to play and win the very next move like you lead me to believe with title …

  4. Your voice is actual ASMR. You should take advantage of this gift.

  5. Solved it in about 20 seconds. Is it just

    Rb6+, Rb7 only move
    Bxb7+, Kb8 only move
    Na6# Checkmate

    I can walk through each move if anyone is interested

  6. The best move for white would be Rc5 to prevent the black pawn move d5 from covering the white bishop along the diagonal because the white bishop would just take it. Now, either of the 2 black rooks could block the white square on b7. If R5b7, then Na6 and black could either move its other rook to c8 or bishop to any black square; if R8b7, then white Rc8+ mates. If bishop moves, then white rook moves to c7. If black bishop captures white rook on c7, white's knight mates by taking the black bishop (suffocated mate). If black bishop does not capture white's rook on c7, then white's king moves closer to blacks pieces to win. There would be no stalemate because blacks bishop is free to move. To summarize,
    WHITE BLACK or WHITE BLACK or WHITE BLACK
    1 Rc5+ R8b7 1 Rc5+ R5b7 1 Rc5+ R5b7
    2 Rc8+ mates 2 Na6 Rc8 2 Na6 Ba5
    3 Rxc8+ mates 3 Rc7 Bxc7
    4 Nxc7+ mates

  7. My guess was rook c8

    Edit: i recant that i misjudged the distance of my knight and considered a smothered mate using both bishop and knight after taking one rook.

  8. At 7:19, in the resulting endgame with Rook vs pawn, the win is not trivial since the white king is so far away. If black plays b5 in that position, white must play Rd6 to cut off the Black king off from advancing down the board to support the pawn. If the pawn gets 2 ranks away from the king, white’s rook will be able to capture it by itself. If black doesn’t play b5, white’s king has time to come over to the b-file.

  9. At 10:19, this “winning endgame” with R+B+N vs. R+B+P seems quite tricky for the average player…..

  10. Great stuff. You explain so simply which I like.

  11. You can do a easy check mate by playing c8

  12. @9:56 but why couldn't Rb4 check be played instead of Bg5?

  13. Idk what it is about this puzzle but it just activated my god mode

  14. More simply, if your opponent has one bishop, stay on the other colour square.

  15. If Chest C is true, then the gold would need to be in chest B and that would mean chest B is false … so the second "false would need to be chest A … which claims the gold is not there… so it iS! But that creates a conflict since the gold would have to be in chest B for C to be true. So chest C has to be false …. which means the gold is NOT in chest B. That leave A and C …but since chest C is false …. and B is true … the other false statement has to be from chest A … which claims the gold is not there … lying chest!

  16. Nice puzzles, but this one took too long to "illustrate". So going to click on "Not interested'.

  17. why not bishop e8 to capture rook on c7?

    y remove the white rook
    and white can trade a little bit but that still leaved black with 2 pawns and a rook vs a knight

  18. Wht if after king h3 black plays rook(b8 to b3)

  19. The gold is in chest A. 2 of them are lying. The 2 liars cannot be A & B because that would mean the gold is in both A & B but it can only be in 1 chest. B & C cannot both be liars because that creates a paradox in chest B where it simultaneously has and does not have the gold. So the 2 liars must be A & C. If A is lying, then the gold is in A.

  20. Too much for this old brain 😢😢😢😂😂

  21. Very good description of out comes, based on the blacks 2 rooks. however what happens when white rook moves from c6 to b6? Black loses a rook next move because black can only block with rook b8 to b7!

  22. Why didn’t the black pawn take the white rook at the beginning? How’s did white rook get there without getting taken in the first place?

  23. It's mate in two, launch a discovered attack by moving rook to c8.

  24. 9:56 black IS able to make a check with the rook to give its king a space – move it to b4 after the king moves to f4. i’m probably missing something but idk

  25. knight to a6 creates zugzwang, and many following moves arecheckmate

  26. I saw Kc5 and Na6 locking up all of the black pieces but the bishop. Did I miss something?

  27. Wait wait wait how did this happen? Pawn D7 didn't just move there. Why didn't black take rook on the previous move. I don't see how we could realistically get into this position.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.